Somewhere in studyland
    Member Type
    Physiotherapy Student
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

popping/clicking noise outside of ankle

Physical Agents In Rehabilitation
    hey, my first post

well just to tell you a bit about me first,i'm 25 male and FINALLY, (afters years of hard work) i'm studying for physio in the south of england, and it's my first year, so be nice just kidding.

Anyway, i recently had reconstruction of the lateral ligaments in my ankle, now when i was in the cast after a few weeks a started gettin clicking/popping/snapping feelings/noises coming from just behind the outside of the ankle bone, whenever i moved my leg (this is with the cast on). Then i came out of the cast and was weight-bearing and i continued to get this. I have continued to get this, only not as often now. I am attending physio for my rehabilitation after my surgery, but i haven't mentioned this to my physio nor my consultant. anybody know what this could be? should i be worried?

Similar Threads:

The Physio Detective Array
    Country
    Flag of Australia
    Current Location
    Penshurst, Sydney, Australia
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Re: popping/clicking noise outside of ankle

Hi.

Mention it, even if they dismiss it.

It is likely that it is flicking of some tightened structure.

At least let them look at it to determine if they can help it. You don't mention pain so it can't be that bad, right?

Surgery does funny things to your connective tissue in the area! Scarring is not just on the outside.

Enjoy your rehab!

Forum Member Array
    Country
    Flag of United Kingdom
    Current Location
    Scotland, UK
    Member Type
    Physiotherapist
    View Full Profile
    Thanks given to others

Hey, I didn't start studying physio till I was 25 either...lots of us about!